News

Bus Stop Updates in Fort Collins Slated to Receive Less Funding

Posted September 18, 2018

You can call or email Fort Collins City Council and ask that bus stop updates remain at current funding levels!

What’s Happening Now:

The City of Fort Collins uses a 2-year budget.  In 2018, City Council will be voting on the 2019/2020 budget.  As it currently stands, the additional $275,000 allocated in 2015 to bring bus stop up to meet ADA standards is not included in the budget.  Instead, bus stop update funding will be dropped back down to the $100,000 previously allocated before 2015, a significant reduction in funding.

What you can do:

Fort Collins City Council values resident feedback!  They want to know what you think should be a priority when building the budget.  You can call or email them right now and ask that they leave the bus stop update program at its current funding level.

Contact Information:

You can email all City Councilmembers and the City Manager at cityleaders@fcgov.com

Suggestions when writing/calling City Council:

– Be Respectful!  Your feedback is much more effective when it’s respectful.
– Say who you are (a parent, a provider, a person with a disability, etc.)
– Mention that people with disabilities should be able to access all our bus stops, not just a select few
– Mention that many people with disabilities rely on public transportation to get to work, school, church, or do grocery shopping
– Mention that bringing bus stops up to ADA standards lessen reliance on Paratransit for people with disabilities
– Mention that bringing bus stops up to ADA standards make the bus stop more usable for everyone, including people without disabilities
– Ask that they fully fund offer 45.20 (this is the offer that keeps the Bus Stop Update program at its current funding level).

Additional Background:

In 2015, The Arc of Larimer County, other advocacy organizations, and residents of Fort Collins went to City Council and asked that they appropriate additional funds to bus stop updates.  At the time, about 330 of Transfort’s 500 bus stops were not in compliance with ADA standards.  To bring bus stops up to meet ADA standards, the City of Fort Collins dedicated $100,000 a year to bringing bus stops up to meet ADA standards, but the process would have taken decades to compete at that funding level.  The bus stop standards set forth by the ADA, or Americans with Disabilities Act, work to make sure that all people with disabilities can access every bus stop.  Fort Collins City Council responded to the request and allocated an additional $275,000 per year to bring bus stops in Fort Collins up to meet ADA standards.  As a result of those extra funds, it was estimated that bus stop updates would be complete in less than 10 years.  In fact, Transfort updated 43 bus stops in 2017 alone, which brought 60% of Transfort bus stops into being ADA compliant.

Questions?

You can email Cari Brown, Systems Advocacy Specialist and Communications Coordinator, at cbrown@arclc.org

City Council Districts:

You do not have to live in a Council Members District in order to email them.  If desired, you can find your Councilmember District here.
Mayor Wade Troxell – wtroxell@fcgov.com
Councilmember Gerry Horak (Mayor Pro Tem & District 6) – ghorak@fcgov.com
Councilmember Bob Overbeck (District 1) – boverbeck@fcgov.com
Councilmember Ray Martinez (District 2) – raymartinez@fcgov.com
Councilmember Ken Summers (District 3) – ksummers@fcgov.com
Councilmember Kristin Stephens (District 4) – kstephens@fcgov.com
Councilmember Ross Cunniff (District 5)  – rcunniff@fcgov.com

Back to News